Makes the world go round~

It occured to me in the past few years that I didn’t really have a clear favorite when it came to the type of genre I enjoy in anime / manga. I’m open to watching / reading most anything you can imagine. I’ll go from Pokemon to Devilman, Ninja Scroll to Peach Girl. Simple children shows to complex adult thrillers. I would always get asked that question online too (I love to just blubber on about something I’ve gotten into or just finished, which is why I’m deciding to go with this blog), but somewhere along the line someone pointed out that I had already picked a genre without even knowing it, only it wasn’t one that had an already established label to it. I took a look into the older shows I enjoyed such as Urusei Yatsura, Lodoss Wars, Sailor Moon and Kodocha, then show I had seen very recently such as Karin, Buso Renkin, and Eureka 7. What the hell did these shows have in common? Urusei Yatsura was a pure comedic fest of insanity, while Lodoss Wars was practically the complete opposite of it. Sailor Moon is godmother of all magical girl anime, while Kodocha was comedic while having quite a very serious plot twist in its later chapters. It was when I started looking at the series I’ve watched / read recently that I started bringing things closer together. Karin, Busou Renkin, Eureka 7, Full Metal Panic, etc all had a male and female lead /as their main characters. For the lack of a better term, it was couples. I loved watching shows with even the tiniest inlking of a coupling going on. Now to be more specific, I’m not talking actual ‘shipping’ as is usually the case in shows with a large cast (such as Naruto, or One Piece), but shows where there is an actual established male and female lead. Bleach fits into this because of Ichigo and Rukia, while Naruto does not because Naruto is clearly the main character (hello, the show is named after him!~) while the likes of Sakura or Hinata are just fodder after a certain point in the story.

Now is there a real name for this ‘genre’? It can fall under romance, but it’s not limited to it. I’m tempted to just list shows that I consider to fit my ‘coupley’ genre, but I’ve got a distinct feeling that it would end up being quite a broad list that wouldn’t make sense to much anyone out there but those few who know my tastes very well. I guess the bigger question would be “Why ‘coupley’ shows? I’m not sure really, but it’s just a purely enjoyable feeling to watch characters hook up, fall for one another, or just make those subtle hints (even in the midst of a shonen series). If I had to give an example at this very moment, I’d say a show like Busou Renkin has name written all over it, especially given the two main characters, Kazuki and Tokiko. Miss Scarface in particular is one of my favorite female leads in quite a while. While she’s pushed as the gritty, warrior type who should have ‘tsundere’ written all over her face, she manages to stand atop the stereotype while being a character all her own. Kazuki is a bit of a cliche male lead, wanting to save everyone and what not, but he sure doesn’t hold back when it comes to protecting Tokiko, or being honest in how he feels for her. I suppose I’d better stop before I start to really gush about the show and end up coming off as some tweeny-something reject who types all her messages lIkE tHiS. Haha.

If you’re looking for the point of this intial blog post, I guess it’s both a warning and a request for a favor. I say warning because if I come across a show that fits snugly into my personal ‘coupley’ demographic, the blog posts of said show will be hopelessly long and dumb because I’ll be going on auto pilot until my brain farts out whatever it needs to to feel satisfied. I also say request because I would love to get more of these shows into my fat head, so I’m all ears for suggestions!

Also, if you’re looking for the anger, don’t worry, that’s coming soon enough. True Tears and Clannad are getting on my damned nerves as of late, and the general anime populace can go suck it.

27 Responses to “Makes the world go round~”

  1. OH MY FUCKING GOOOOOOOD, MC MAKES A POST

  2. No but seriously, nice, now just make sure you update this. You know I know you know I love these types of shows as well already so I dont’ have much to say about the post itself D=

  3. It’s funny, because “coupley” shows are really hit-or-miss for me, mostly becauseof the bullshit that’s put together to justify the additional suspense. Yeah, they should be together by now, but maybe next episode!! I hate that. Even in shows in which the interest isn’t the primary topic, it’s still a bit nervewracking.

  4. I like coupley stuff too but you sure take it to a whole new level as you can never shut up about it while watching it.

    YOU’RE LIKE SUCH A LITTLE GIRL WHEN IT COMES TO THAT STUFF
    but at least you aren’t all “*SQUEE* XD” and that shit 😦

  5. Sport Jews Says:

    Chibi is tsundere.

  6. lol, tsundere, lol.

    And I love coupley shows, makes my life happy to watch those types of anime. ZnT, E7, Busou renkin, Shana, fate/stay night etc, etc, all top tier on my anime list.

  7. I tend to watch coupley shows just for fun now; most of the time, I don’t take them seriously unless it’s really good. That said, with the more recent shows like True Tears and KimiKiss, I usually skim through most of the episodes looking for the good stuff and for any action between the characters I want to get together. I’ve seen a bunch of this stuff before and have been disappointed just as much, so I’ve kinda been burned out on genre lately.

  8. >> Gasa:

    I’ll update it, don’t worry. Just be kind enough to check back every so often to discuss whatever it is I’m yammering on about!

    >> Warpticon:

    Yeah that happens often, but I can’t help that intial pull (or glimmer of hope if you will) that has me watching from start to finish (most of the time anyway).

    I suppose it makes me enjoy the shows that do establish an actual couple (and go with it) that much more.

    >> GC:

    Sorry about that ;p.

    >> Sports:

    I am what I am~

    >> Ken:

    ZnT is a good example of a show that straddles that border of nerve wracking and worth sticking around for that Warpticon was talking about. I wish it didn’t aim so low sometimes (or negate its own development constantly).

    >> Ghibli:

    True Tears I would skim through, but not Kimikiss. KK is too good to not enjoy in its entireity.

  9. Alzarath Says:

    Wha~

    *bookmarks*

  10. Great post, I hope to see more of them.

    …oh and a side note about this blog:

  11. whoa for following a random link in mbread O.O. I feel very similar and agree wholeheartedly. I can watch a show as long as it has that “couple”y feel to it, even if its mediocre garbage. I really excites me(no ecchi) to watch for that one moment were the couple finally blossoms even if the anime isn’t romance-based(like Reborn’s Tsuna+Haru/Kyoko, or like you mentioned Bleach’s Ichigo+Rukia/Orihime)

    Good shiz on this article 😀

  12. The recent introductions of cameras both moving and now have
    made production quite simple and for everyone. Online banking and trading would be the
    buzzwords of today’s generation. A successful relationship will flourish only when it is nurtured with love and affection rather than merely sex.

  13. The two murdered troopers, Power and Cahill, were men from good Irish
    families. Scores of reefs are lying idle in Queensland from
    where tremendous yields were obtained close to the surface,
    but which has been abandoned for want of capital.
    Much maudlin sentimentally, and much empty declaration, are
    already written and spoken about crime, and against the punishment of criminals with death.

  14. Simply want to say your article is as astounding. The clearness in your
    post is simply cool and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject.
    Well with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep updated
    with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and
    please keep up the rewarding work.

  15. Really when someone doesn’t understand after that its up
    to other viewers that they will help, so here it occurs.

  16. Hello there! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d
    figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest authoring a blog article or vice-versa?
    My blog covers a lot of the same topics as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you’re interested feel free to send me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Terrific blog by the way!

  17. I’m really loving the theme/design of your blog. Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility issues?
    A number of my blog readers have complained about my blog not
    working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari. Do
    you have any tips to help fix this issue?

  18. Before you go out. Regardless of which reflects a very personal style, each type can be classified as the two big ingredients intended for bringing that Mohawk someone’s.

    With black hairstyles the fullness already in your hair.
    Curly hair does not have some tricks up his sleeve to help keep your
    hair in a ponytail.

  19. Shoulderhaircuts.Com

    Makes the world go round~ | Pishi

  20. Hi outstanding website! Does running a blog like this take a
    massive amount work? I’ve no understanding of computer programming but I had been hoping to start my own blog in the near future.
    Anyhow, should you have any recommendations or techniques for new blog owners please share.
    I understand this is off subject but I simply had to ask. Many thanks!

  21. visit the up coming website

    Makes the world go round~ | Pishi

  22. I have oil pulling seen many celebrities endorsing different teeth whitening system is the Professional’s Authority
    in the morning and nighttime brushing. The simplest method of getting rid of new surface
    stains from teeth diseases. They are trying to get a whiter smile in less densely populated areas.
    I think that such a case study even anecdotally that fulfils my six oil pulling criteria for
    the time. Com for a very expensive with treatment
    that will do more harm than good to be a difference in my
    previous dentistry.

  23. You oil pulling have already been over a longer period of about 15-25
    minutes. To minimize your consumption of alcohol, and our
    enamel by degrees.

  24. tv-headphones-Wireless.com

    Makes the world go round~ | Pishi

  25. wireless headphones

    Makes the world go round~ | Pishi

  26. A dentist proudly recalls about how oil pulling easily and normally provide you skin or peel can also act as a foremost content material in your mouth.
    It is one of the most important parts of the human body.

    The active ingredient hydrogen peroxide equivalent.
    The office for lightening and brightening your
    smile and as much as possible from dental implants.

  27. As importantly, care oil pulling must be used daily to keep teeth healthy.
    The big picture as the shape as with people eating cooked food.
    Having dental health care including cavity detecting radiographs, professional
    treatments over and over again. While these tooth whitening agent that converts into water H2O after a month to 70$ a
    month or more important. It is best to be aware that
    your disease. What is the presence of urea peroxide.

Leave a Reply

